Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.


Competition rules the day as candidates file


The New Mexico Secretary of State’s office listed 54 candidates in 19 races for 13 seats in the New Mexico Legislature representing Doña Ana County and six races for county office. A total of 32 Democrats, 21 Republicans and one Libertarian filed for local offices in the June 2 primary, with winners advancing to the Nov. 3 ballot.

Doña Ana County voters will also cast ballots in races for the U.S. Senate and New Mexico’s Second Congressional District in the U.S. House of Representatives.

U.S. Congress

U.S. Senator: Incumbent Democrat Tom Udall is not running for re-election. Democrat (1): U.S. Rep. Ben R. Lujan of Santa Fe; Libertarian (1): Bob Walsh, Santa Fe; Republican (4): Elisa Maria Martinez, Mark V. Ronchetti, Louis Sanchez, all of Albuquerque; Gavin s. Clarkson, Las Cruces; (Republican 2018 U.S. Senate candidate Mick Rich dropped out of the primary race March 10; Republican Richard T. Montoya, Rio Rancho, was listed as disqualified by the New Mexico Secretary of State’s office)

U.S. Representative, District 2: Democrat (1): Incumbent Xochitl Torres Small, Las Cruces; Republican (3): 2018 U.S. representative candidate Yvette Herrell, Alamogordo; Claire Chase, Roswell; Chris Mathys, Las Cruces

State Senate

  • District 31, located entirely in Doña Ana County (DAC); Democrat (3): incumbent Joseph Cervantes, Las Cruces; Melissa Ontiveros, Las Cruces; Arturo E. Terrazas, Sunland Park; Republican (1): John Thomas Roberts, Anthony
  • District 34, located mostly in Otero and Eddy counties, with one precinct in DAC; Democrat (1): Darren Murray Kugler, Cloudcroft; Republican (1): incumbent Ron Griggs, Alamogordo
  • District 35, which includes parts of Luna, Hidalgo Sierra and Doña Ana counties; Democrat (2): incumbent John Arthur Smith, Deming; Neomi O. Martinez-Parra, Lordsburg; Republican (1): Crystal R. Diamond, Elephant Butte
  • District 36, located entirely in DAC; Democrat (1): incumbent Jeff Steinborn; Republican (2): Roger Martin Baker II, Kimberly A. Skaggs, all of Las Cruces
  • District 37, located entirely in DAC: Democrat (1): incumbent Bill Soules; Republican (1): David W. Gallus, both of Las Cruces
  • District 38, located entirely in DAC: Democrat (3): incumbent Mary Kay Papen, Tracy Lynn Perry, Carrie Hamblen; Republican (1): Charles R. Wendler, all of Las Cruces

State Representative

  • District 33: located entirely in DAC: Democrat (1): incumbent Micaela Lara Cadena; Republican (1): Beth E. Miller, both of Las Cruces
  • District 34, located entirely in DAC; Democrat (2): incumbent Raymundo “Ray” Lara, former state Rep. Bealquin “Bill” Gomez; Republican (1): Dawn E. Ladd, all of La Mesa
  • District 35, located entirely in DAC: Democrat (1): incumbent Angelica Rubio; Republican (1): Richelle A. Ponder, both of Las Cruces
  • District 36, located entirely in DAC; Democrat (1): incumbent Nathan Small; Republican (1): Brandi L. Polanco, both of Las Cruces
  • District 37, located entirely in DAC: Democrat (1): incumbent Joanne Ferrary; Republican (1): Isabella Solis, both of Las Cruces
  • District 39, which includes parts of Grant, Sierra and Doña Ana counties: Democrat (1): incumbent Rodolpho S. “Rudy” Martinez; Republican (1): Luis M. Terrazas, both of Silver City
  • District 52, located entirely in DAC: Democrat (1): incumbent Doreen Y. Gallegos; Republican (1): John Foreman, both of Las Cruces
  • District 53, which includes Doña Ana and Otero counties: Democrat (1): incumbent Willie D. Madrid, Republican (1): former state Rep. Ricky L. Little, both of Chaparral

Third Judicial District Attorney: (Incumbent Democrat Mark D’Antonio did not file for re-election) Democrat (2): Gerald Milton Byers, Davis Rutherford Ruark, both of Las Cruces; Republican: none

Doña Ana County Commission

  • District 2: Democrat (2): incumbent Ramon S. Gonzales, Anthony Mayor Diana Murillo-Trujillo, both of Anthony; Republican: none
  • District 4 (incumbent Republican Solis is running for state representative): Democrat (3): Debra Ann Hathaway, Sam Bradley, Irma Susana Chaparro; Libertarian (1): Buck Bonner; Republican (3): Jesus O. Oropeza, Stacie Michelle Durham, Richard J. Reynaud, all of Las Cruces except Durham, who is from Organ
  • District 5: Democrat (1): incumbent Manuel A/ Sanchez; Republican (1): Robert Bruce Flora, both of Las Cruces

County Clerk: Democrat (2): incumbent Amanda Lopez Askin, Andrew J. Ostic; Republican (1): Cheryl de Young, all of Las Cruces

County Treasurer: Democrat (2): incumbent Eric L. Rodriguez, Eugenia “Gina” Montoya Ortega; Republican (1): Bernadette A. Dorazio, all of Las Cruces