Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.


Contested primaries for Doña Ana County voters


Here are the contested Primaries, by party, in which voters can cast ballots during the June 2 Primary Election:


• State Senate, District 31: Incumbent Joseph Cervantes of Las Cruces and Melissa Ontiveros, both of Las Cruces, and Arturo E. Terrazas of Sunland Park.

State Senate, District 35 (The seat includes portions of Luna, Sierra, Hidalgo and Doña Ana counties.): Incumbent John Arthur Smith of Deming and Neomi O. Martinez-Parra of Lordsburg.

• State Senate, District 38: Incumbent Mary Kay Papen and Carrie Hamblen, both of Las Cruces. Tracy L. Perry dropped out of the race.

• State Representative, District 34: Incumbent Ray Lara and Bill Gomez, both of La Mesa.

• County clerk: Incumbent Democrat Amanda Lopez Askin is running for her first full four-year term. She was appointed in September 2018 when Scott Krahling resigned. Andrew J. Ostic is also running. Both are from Las Cruces.

• County treasurer: Incumbent Eric L. Rodriguez and Gina Ortega, both of Las Cruces.

• County commission, District 2: Incumbent Ramon S. Gonzalez of Anthony and Anthony Mayor Diane Murillo-Trujillo. There is no Republican running.

• County commission, District 4: Susie Chaparro, Debra Ann Hathaway and Sam Bradley, all of Las Cruces. Incumbent Isabella Solis, a Republican, is giving up the seat to run for state representative.


• U.S. Senate: Gavin S. Clarkson of Las Cruces, Elisa Maria Martinez and Mark V. Ronchetti, both of Albuquerque. This is an open seat, as incumbent Democrat Tom Udall is not running for re-election.

• U.S. Representative, District 2: Chris Mathys of Las Cruces, Yvette Harrell (the 2018 Republican candidate for the seat) of Alamogordo and Claire Chase of Roswell. The incumbent is Democrat Xochitl Torres Small of Las Cruces, who is seeking her second two-year term.

• County commission, District 4: Stacie Michelle Durham of Organ and Richard J. Reynaud and Jesus O. Oropeza, both of Las Cruces. Incumbent Isabella Solis is giving up the seat to run for state representative.