Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.


State, county Democrats, Republicans choose national delegates


Four Democrats and two Republicans from Doña Ana County are set to join other New Mexico delegates at their respective parties’ national conventions this August.

Selected by the Democrats are County Democratic Party Chair Mona Trempe, former County Manager Julia T. Brown, former state representative and state public regulation commissioner E. Shirley Baca and Robert Lara.

Selected by the Republicans are County Commissioner Isabella Solis and Paul Smith.

The Democratic National Convention is Aug. 17-20 in Milwaukee (www.demconvention.com). The Republican National Convention is Aug. 24-27 in Charlotte, North Carolina, and Jacksonville, Florida. (www.2020gopconvention.com).

New Mexico Democrats elected 23 congressional delegates, four party leader and elected-official delegates and seven at-large delegates, who will join New Mexico’s 11 automatic delegates at the convention. Automatic delegates include Gov. Michelle Lujan Grisham, U.S Sens. Tom Udall and Martin Heinrich, U.S. Reps. Deb Haaland, Xochitl Torres Small and Ben Ray Lujan, New Mexico House Speaker Brian Egolf, D-Santa Fe, state party Chair Marg Elliston and DNC Committeeman Raymond Sanchez and Committeewoman Joni Marie Gutierrez. Torres Small and Gutierrez are from Las Cruces.

Republicans chose 22 statewide delegates, including 10 statewide delegates, three from each of New Mexico’s three congressional districts, state party Chair Steve Pearce, National Committeeman Harvey Yates and National Committeewoman Rosie Tripp. Solis was listed as a Second Congressional District alternate delegate and Smith as a statewide alternate.