Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.

Two local candidates qualify for federal, statewide races


Forty-seven candidates qualified to run for federal and state offices in New Mexico in the June 8 primary, and dozens more likely will file Tuesday, March 8, for county offices, local judgeships and seats in the New Mexico House of Representatives.

Candidates for federal and statewide offices filed Feb. 1 as Democratic, Republican and Libertarian candidates.

Three candidates filed in the U.S. House District 2 race: incumbent U.S. Rep. Yvette Herrell, R-N.M., of Alamogordo; and Democrats Gabriel Vasquez of Las Cruces and Darshan N. Patel of Albuquerque. Voters in all three New Mexico U.S. House districts will vote this year in districts that were redrawn by the New Mexico Legislature in last December’s special session based on the 2020 census.

Incumbent Michelle Lujan Grisham is the only Democrat who filed for governor, along with two Libertarian candidates and five Republicans. State Rep. Rebecca Dow, a Republican from Truth or Consequences, is the only gubernatorial candidate from southern New Mexico.

Incumbent Howie Morales of Silver City is the only Democrat who filed for lieutenant governor. There is one Libertarian candidate, along with five Republicans, including former Doña Ana County Commissioner Isabella Solis of Las Cruces. Republican candidates also include former state Land Commissioner Patrick Lyons of Cuervo (Guadalupe County), New Mexico.

No other candidates for statewide office are from Doña Ana County.

Incumbent Secretary of State Maggie Toulouse Oliver, a Democrat from Albuquerque, filed for re-election. Mayna Erika Myers of Hobbs filed as a Libertarian and Audrey Trujillo of Corrales is running as a Republican.

The current state auditor, Brian Colon, a Democrat from Albuquerque, filed to run for attorney general. Raul Torres of Albuquerque also filed as a Democrat in the AG’s race, along with Republican Jeremy Michael Gay of Gallup. Incumbent AG Hector Balderas, a Democrat, is term limited.

A Democrat will succeed Colon as state auditor, as only Democrats Zackary A. Quintero of Albuquerque and Joseph M. Maestas of Santa Fe filed for that office.

In the state treasurer’s race, Laura M. Montoya of Rio Rancho and Heather Benavidez of Albuquerque filed as  Democrats, and Harry B. Montoya of Santa Fe filed as a Republican. Incumbent Tim Eichenberg, a Democrat, is term limited.

Incumbent state Land Commissioner Stephanie Garcia Richard, a Democrat and former Los Alamos state representative, filed for re-election. Her Republican opponent is Jefferson L. Byrd of Tucumcari.

One Democrat and one Republican each filed for in the two state Supreme Court races. One Democrat and one Republican each filed for the two state Court of Appeals races, along with a Libertarian candidate in one race.

Read the full list of statewide candidates at www.sos.state.nm.us. (Click on the statewide primary candidate list link on the home page.)

Candidates must file Tuesday, March 8, with the Doña Ana County Clerk’s Office for state Public Education Commission (districts 6 and 7, both of which include parts of Doña Ana County, are on the ballot); eight seats in the New Mexico House of Representatives that include Doña Ana County; county commission districts 1 and 3, sheriff, assessor, probate judge; seven county magistrates; and two district judges, with both those races filling unexpired terms.