Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.


Unofficial NM election results


Unofficial results from the New Mexico Secretary of State’s office. Visit https://electionresults.sos.state.nm.us/default.aspx.

Incumbent: (I)


U.S. Representative
Congressional District 2
Democrat Gabriel Vasquez: 96,253
Republican Yvette Herrell (I): 95,238


Democrat Michelle Lujan Grisham (I): 363,546
Republican Mark Ronchetti: 320,555
Libertarian Karen Bedonie: 17,163


Secretary of State
Democrat Maggie Toulouse Oliver (I): 377,674
Republican Audrey Trujillo: 297,099
Libertarian Mayna Myers: 19,770


Attorney General
Democrat Raul Torres: 381,339
Republican Jeremy Gay: 310,486
Incumbent Democrat Hector Balderas was term limited


State Treasurer
Democrat Laura M. Montoya: 363,503
Republican Harry B. Montoya: 322,194
Incumbent Democrat Tim Eichenberg was term limited


State Auditor
Democrat Joseph Maestas: 392,237
Libertarian Travis Sanchez: 243,245
Incumbent Democrat Brian Colon did not seek re-election, running instead for attorney general


Land Commissioner
Democrat Stephanie Garcia Richard (I): 372,565
Republican Jefferson Byrd: 307,424


State constitutional amendment No. 1: State land grant allocations for early childhood care and education:
Yes: 464,808
No: 197,134


State constitutional amendment No. 2: Public investment for essential household services:
Yes: 418,322
No: 225,313


State constitutional amendment No. 3: Appointed judges serve at least one year before a general election:
Yes: 433,905
No: 197,534


State general obligation (GO) bond question No. 1: Senior citizen facilities
Yes: 420,635
No: 214,220


State GO bond question No. 2: Libraries
Yes: 395,279
No: 236,011


State GO bond question No. 3: Schools
Yes: 385,724
No: 244,550


Doña Ana County Commission District 3
Democrat Shannon Reynolds (I): 6,497
Republican Patricia “Susie” Kimble: 5,234


Doña Ana County Sheriff
Democrat Kim Stewart (I): 30,727
Republican Byron Hollister: 25,716


City of Las Cruces GO bond question: new Fire Station No. 9
Yes: 22,892
No: 7,881


City of Las Cruces GO bond question: East Mesa Recreational Complex
Yes: 19,317
No. 11, 368


City of Las Cruces GO bond question: Affordable housing
Yes: 20,077
No: 10,849


City of Las Cruces GO bond question: Parks and recreational facilities
Yes: 22,989
No: 8,059


For New Mexico House of Representatives races, including the seats that include Doña Ana County, visit the above website and click on the blue “Legislative” box. Doña Ana County seats are House Districts 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37, 38, 52 and 53.

New Mexico State Elections