Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.

Amanda Lopez Askin selected to take reins at clerk's office


Amanda Askin Amanda Askin


By a 3-2 vote along party lines, the Doña Ana County Board of Commissioners chose Amanda Lopez Askin as the next Doña Ana County clerk.

Askin will resign her position with the New Mexico Department of Health to assume the duties of county clerk, and her swearing-in ceremony will be scheduled soon.

Askin pledged to work toward a seamless transition. She is a native of Las Cruces, having graduated from Oñate High School in 1992. She holds a bachelor’s of science degree in family and child science, a master’s degree in family and consumer sciences, and a doctorate in educational leadership administration, all from New Mexico State University.

Since June of 2005, she’s been a school mental health advocate for the New Mexico Department of Health. Her prior career was in mass media, with an emphasis in local radio. She also served a term as an NMSU regent.

She is active in a number of community events and organizations.

Of the 14 applicants, the commission voted on five applicants: Askin, Lindsey Bachmann, Dolores Connor, Merrie Lee Soules and Cheryl De Young. All failed by votes of 2 in favor and 3 in opposition.

After a brief recess in the meeting, Askin received a second consideration based on a motion by District 1 Commissioner Billy G. Garrett, seconded by District 2 Commissioner Ramon S. Gonzalez.

Askin pledged to keep Bachmann on board as the chief deputy clerk in an effort to promote continuity in advance of the Nov. 6 General Elections. Bachman will continue to run the clerk’s office until Askin comes on board full-time.

Askin will serve out the remainder of former Clerk Scott A. Krahling’s term, which ends Dec. 31, 2020. She will be eligible to seek election during the 2020 election cycle.