Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.

County commission, LCPS school board elect new officers


As the new year begins, the Doña Ana County Commission and Las Cruces Public Schools Board of Education elected new officers.

Doña Ana County Commission

At its Jan. 10 meeting, the Doña Ana County Commission elected Susana Chaparro as the new commission chair. Chaparro, who was elected in 2020, succeeds Manuel Sanchez as board president. Christopher Schaljo-Hernandez, who was elected to the board of commissioners last November, was chosen by fellow commissioners as board vice president.

Along with Chaparro, Schaljo-Hernandez and Sanchez, commissioners are Shannon Reynolds and Diana Murillo.

All five commissioners are Democrats and are elected by districts.

The commission meets at 9 a.m. the second and fourth Tuesdays in commission chambers on the ground floor of the Doña Ana County Government Building.

Visit www.donaanacounty.org, click on “Government” and “Board of County Commissioners.”

LCPS Board of Education

At its Jan. 10 work session, the school board elected Teresa Tenorio as board president. Pamela Cort as vice president and Bob Wofford as secretary. Tenorio, who was elected to a four-year term in 2019, had previously been board vice president. She succeeds Ray Jaramillo as board president.  

“I am humbled, and I hope to serve our district well,” Tenorio said in an LCPS news release. “I believe in shared leadership, and I am grateful for the opportunity and the leadership of our outgoing president, Mr. Jaramillo.”

Carol Cooper is also a member of the five-member school board, along with Tenorio, Cort, Wofford and Jaramillo. Members are elected by district to four-year terms in nonpartisan elections. The board holds regular meetings at 6 p.m. the third Tuesday of the month. Work sessions are held at 4 p.m. the first Tuesday or each month. Meetings are held at the LCPS administration building, 505 S. Main St.

The board’s LCPS contact is LCPS administrative assistant Robinette Van Sant, who can be reached at 575-527-5805 and rvansant@lcps.net.

For more information, visit www.lcps.net/page/board-of-education.