Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.


Early voting and election-day voting at almost 800,000 by 8 a.m.


The New Mexico Secretary of State’s office said nearly 800,000 of the state’s 1,350,181 registered voters either voted early or had cast their ballots by 8 a.m. on election day (today). That is a turnout of almost 58.5 percent, with election day polls open until 7 p.m. tonight.

In Doña Ana County, the secretary of state’s office said almost 69,000 voters had cast their ballots early or by 8 a.m. on election day. That is about 55 percent of the county’s 125,000 registered voters, and more than 60 percent of the county’s 114,000 active voters.

Here are the early-vote and election-day totals for the state and county as of 8 a.m. today:

Statewide: Democrats: 196,451 absentee, 182,961, early in-person, 4,661 voting on election day, 384,073 total; Republicans: 69,626 absentee, 199,376 early in-person, 5,463 voting on election day, 274,465 total; declined to state a party preference: 50,161 absentee, 67,137 early in-person, 2,462 voting on election day, 119,760 total; Libertarian: 2,193 absentee, 3,694 early in-person, 141 voting on election day, 6,028 total; other parties: 2,035 absentee, 3,090 early in-person, 116 voting on election day, 5,241 total. Grand total: 789,567.

Doña Ana County: Democrats: 16,475 absentee, 17,432 early in-person, 570 voting on election day, 34,477 total; Republicans: 5,202 absentee, 15,378 early in-person, 631 voting on election day, 21,211 total; declined to state a party preference: 5,015 absentee, 6,929 early in-person, 333 voting on election day, 12,277 total; Libertarian: 207 absentee, 288 early in-person, 18 voting on election day, 513 total; other parties: 147 absentee, 212 early in-person, 10 voting on election day, 369 total. Grand total: 68,847.

About 70,000 Doña Ana County voters cast ballots in the 2016 general election, including early, absentee and election-day voting, Chief Deputy County Clerk Lindsey Bachman said in a news release.  

Polls will be open until 7 p.m. today at 40 voting locations in the county. Find voting locations at lascrucesbulletin.com.

Absentee ballots can be returned by the voter, the voter's immediate family member (spouse, parent, sibling or child) or by the voter's caregiver at any voting convenience center on election day. Outdoor absentee return boxes will also be available at 14 election day voting centers: Anthony City Hall

Chaparral Middle School, Corbett Center (NMSU campus), Doña Ana County Government Center,  Desert Hills Elementary School, Desert View Elementary School,         Jornada Elementary School, Las Cruces City Hall, Lynn Middle School, Mayfield High School, Oñate High School, Santa Teresa Middle School, Sierra Middle School and Sonoma Elementary School.

You can track election results through the secretary of state’s website lascrucesbulletin.com.