Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.

Early voting continues countywide


Early voting in the Nov. 7 local election continues through Saturday, Nov. 4, throughout Doña Ana County:

  • Anthony, New Mexico: Anthony Public Library, 750 Landers Road
  • Hatch: Hatch High School, 170 E. Herrera Road
  • Mesilla: Mesilla Town Hall, 2231 Avenida de Mesilla
  • Sunland Park: Doña Ana Community College-Sunland Park, 3365 McNutt Road
  • Chaparral: Doña Ana Community College-Chaparral, 755 Prescott Anthony Drive
  • Las Cruces: Doña Ana County Government Center, 845 N. Motel Blvd.; Las Cruces City Hall, 700 N. Main St.; NMSU Corbett Center, 1600 International Mall, NMSU campus; Doña Ana Community College-East Mesa, 2800 Sonoma Ranch Blvd.

Same-day voter registration continues through election day, Nov. 7. Absentee ballots must be turned in by 7 p.m. that day.

On the ballot

Here are the offices on the Nov. 7 ballot. Only voters in specific jurisdictions, including districts, vote in those elections. For example, only voters who live in Las Cruces will vote in City of Las Cruces races, and only those voters who live in specific city council districts will vote in those races. All positions are for four-year terms. Candidate filing date was Aug. 29; write-in candidate filing date was Sept. 5.

  • City of Anthony: Two trustees at large (five candidates)
  • City of Las Cruces: All registered voters in the city will vote for mayor (seven candidates) and municipal judge (one candidate). Only those voters in districts 1, 2 and 4 will vote in city council races. Districts 3, 5 and 6 are not on this year’s ballot. City races that have more than two candidates will be decided by ranked choice voting.

- Mayor: Kasandra Gandara, Eric Enriquez, Mariah J. Hernandez, current Doña Ana County Assessor Gina Ortega, former Doña Ana County Commissioner Isabella Solis, Mike Tellez, Alexander Fresquez. Incumbent Mayor Ken Miyagishima is not running for a fifth four-year term. Ortega, Solis, Tellez and Fresquez have previously run for mayor. Gandara has served the past eight years on the Las Cruces City Council. Enriquez is a former Las Cruces assistant city manager and fire chief.

- City Council District 1: Patrick W. Potter, Daniel Buck, Cassandra McClure, Mark. J. O’Neill, Jason Estrada. Incumbent Kasandra Gandara is running for mayor.

- City Council District 2: Incumbent Tessa Abeyta; former Las Cruces mayor Bill Mattiace

- City Council District 4: Incumbent Johana Bencomo, Gabriel Duran Jr., Lorenzo M. Medina, Ramon Ortega

- Municipal Judge 1: Anthony F. Filosa is the only candidate. Filosa was appointed municipal judge II by the Las Cruces City Council in April. Incumbent Judge 1 Joy Goldbaum did not file for re-election.

  • City of Sunland Park: Mayor (one candidate); councilors in district 4 (two candidates), 5 (two candidates) and 6 (one candidate)
  • Town of Mesilla: Mayor (one candidate); two trustees (four candidates)
  • Village of Hatch: Two trustees at large (three candidates); municipal judge (one candidate)
  • Gadsden Independent School District Board of Education members in district 1 (two candidates), 3 (one candidate) and 4 (two candidates)
  • Hatch Valley Public Schools Board of Education members positions 2, 3 and 5 at large (six candidates)
  • Las Cruces Public Schools Board of Education, District 1: Incumbent Patrick Nolan, Joseph W. Sousa; District 4: Incumbent Teresa Tenorio, Edward Howell, Julia E. Ruiz; District 5: Incumbent Carol Cooper, Jose L. Aranda, Ernest Carlson, Ed Frank former LCPS School Board member
  • Doña Ana Soil and Water Conservation District Board of Supervisors positions 1, 2 and 3
  • Lower Rio Grande Public Water Works Authority Board of Directors districts 1, 2 and 6
  • Anthony Water and Sanitation District Board of Directors position 1
  • Caballo Soil and Water Conservation District (Doña Ana, Luna and Sierra counties) Board of Supervisors positions 1, 2 and 5
  • La Union Watershed District Board of Directors secretary; treasurer

For more information, visit www.donaanacountyelections.com/election-information.

Ballot questions

  • DACC is asking for voter approval of $16 million in general obligation bonds “for the purpose of erecting, furnishing, constructing, purchasing, remodeling and equipping buildings and utility facilities, exclusive of stadiums; making other real property improvements; purchasing grounds; and purchasing and installing computer hardware and software.” Visit dacc.nmsu.edu/gobonds/index.html.
  • The Gadsden Independent School District (GISD) is asking voters in that district to approve a two mill property tax ($2 on each $1,000 of the next taxable value of property allocated to GISD for school district capital improvements) for 1) building, remodeling, making additions to, equipping and furnishing public school buildings, including teacher housing and pre-kindergarten classroom facilities; 2) purchasing or improving school or pre-kindergarten grounds; 3) maintenance of public school buildings; 4) purchasing activity vehicles for transporting students to extracurricular school activities; 5) purchasing computer software and hardware for student use in classrooms; and 6) purchasing and installing education technology improvements.
  • Hatch Valley Public Schools (HVPS) is asking voters in that district to approve a two-mill property tax for the same purposes in HVPS as outlined in the GISD question above.

For more information, visit www.donaanacountyelections.com.