Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.


In muted ceremonies, officials take the oath


In late December of each election year, state and county officials are sworn in to office at a ceremony held in the Commission Chambers of the Dona Ana County Government Center.

In a normal year, the event is festive and crowded. But in 2020, not so much.

The Dec. 30, 2020, ceremony successfully swore in 25 elected and reelected officials raging from county commissioners and district judges to state representatives, state senators and the district attorney.

Each ceremony was conducted by appointment, and some were done virtually, with District Judges Manuel I. Arrieta and James T. Martin administering the oaths of office. Social distancing was practiced, and the few people allowed into the chambers were masked to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

The following officials took the oaths of office:

Third Judicial District judges

Manuel I. Arrieta, Marci E. Beyer, Conrad F. Perea, Mary Rosner, Lisa C. Schultz, James T. Martin, Douglas R. Driggers, Grace B. Duran and Richard M. Jacquez.

County officials

Treasurer Eric L. Rodriguez, Clerk Amanda Lopez Askin, District 2 Commissioner Diana Murillo-Trujillo, District 4 Commissioner Susana Chaparro and District 5 Commissioner Manuel A. Sanchez.

State representatives

Raymundo Lara (District 34), Angelica Rubio (District 35), Joanne J. Ferrary (District 37), Luis M. Terrazas (District 39), Doreen Y. Gallegos (District 52) and Willie D. Madrid (District 53).

State senators

Joseph Cervantes (District 31), Jeff Steinborn (District 36), William P. Soules (District 37) and Carrie Hamblen (District 39).

District attorney              

Gerald M. Byers.