Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.


Latest unofficial county primary vote totals


Publisher Richard Coltharp: Every election brings a lot of interesting numbers. Among the more puzzling numbers are the ones that show how many registered, eligible voters did NOT vote. In Doña Ana County, that number for yesterday’s primary election is about 60,000. Statewide, the number is about 600,000. In both cases, more than half the registered, eligible voters decided to just sit this one out.

These unofficial vote totals from the New Mexico Secretary of State’s office for the June 2 primary election are current as of 4:45 p.m. MDT Wednesday, June 3. Secretary of State Maggie Toulouse Oliver said final tallies in Doña Ana and five other counties are delayed because of the large number of absentee ballots cast. For updated totals, visit http://electionresults.sos.state.nm.us/.

The unofficial turnout was about 38 percent statewide (more than 378,000 voters of almost 994,000 eligible Democrats, Republicans and Libertarians eligible) and about 29 percent in Doña Ana County (almost 26,000 voters of almost 89,000 eligible).


• State Senate, District 31 (Doña Ana County): Joseph Cervantes (i) 1,364; Melissa Ontiveros 701; Arturo E. Terrazas 392

• State Senate, District 35 (Luna, Hidalgo, Sierra, Doña Ana): John Arthur Smith (i) 2,293; Noemi O. Martinez-Parra 2,793

• State Senate, District 38 (Doña Ana): Mary Kay Papen (i) 1,533; Carrie Hamblen 1,725; Tracy Perry 262

• State Representative, District 34 (Doña Ana): Ray Lara (i) 915; Bill Gomez 583

DAC Commission, District 2: Ramon S. Gonzalez (i) 689; Diane Murrillo-Trujillo 887

DAC Commission, District 4: Susana Chaparro 1,643; Debra Ann Hathaway 1,620; Sam Bradley 614

Incumbent Isabella Solis, who was elected as a Democrat but switched to Republican in late 2019, could have run for re-election to the commission but instead is running for state representative, District 37.

• County Clerk: Amanda Lopez Askin (i) 12,803; Andrew J. Ostic 2,480

• County Treasurer: Eric L. Rodriguez (i) 8,540; Gina Ortega 6,900


• U.S. Senate: Mark V. Ronchetti 84,586; Elisa Maria Martinez 39,421; Gavin Clarkson 26,426

In November, Ronchetti will face current U.S. Rep. Ben Ray Lujan, a Democrat, and Libertarian Bob Walsh, who had no opponents in their primaries. Incumbent U.S. Sen. Tom Udall, D-N.M., is retiring.

• U.S. House of Representatives, NM-2: Yvette Herrell 26,599; Claire Chase 18,759; Chris Mathys 14,105

Herrell, a former Otero County legislator, will be in a rematch with U.S. Rep. Xochitl Torre Small, D-N.M., in November. Torres Small, of Las Cruces, had no opponent in the Democratic primary.

• State Senate, District 36: Kimberly A. Skaggs 1,587; Roger Martin Baker II 976

DAC Commission, District 4: Stacie M. Durham 1,259; Richard J. Reynaud 1,222; Jesus O. Oropeza 281.