Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.

Miyagishima retains seat


Mayor Ken

Bulletin photo by Christopher Belarde

Las Cruces Mayor Ken Miyasighima hugs his wife, Rosie, as he celebrates his victory to retain his seat Tuesday, Nov. 3 at Los Compas restaurant on Compress Drive were he gathered with supporters.

Bulletin report

There were a couple of really close races in the Las Cruces municipal election Tuesday, Nov. 3. What wasn't close, though, was the mayor's race where Mayor Ken Miyagishima won a third term with 51 percent of the vote to challenger Miguel Silva's 33 percent and businesswoman Eugenia Ortega's 16 percent.

There was a squeaker in the City Council District 1 race. With all polling places reporting, the city clerk's office shows Kasandra Gandara besting Eli Guzman by just 18 votes, 871-853. Steven Calderazzo, who withdrew from the race but whose name stayed on the ballot, still drew 106 votes.

The race for a seat on the Las Cruces City Council to represent District 4 appears to have come down to just 11 votes. The city clerk's office reports Jack Eakman finished on top with 621 votes to Richard Hall's 610 votes. Gilbert Vasquez finished well behind with 183 votes.

Greg Smith will keep his seat as Las Cruces city councillor for District 2. The city clerk's office reports Smith received 962 votes while challenger Phillip VanVeen finished with 810 votes.

Municipal Judge Keiran Ryan will now move up to presiding judge on the municipal court with a 6,184 to 3,139 vote victory against Bill Kinsella.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment