Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.


NM State men's golf has claims the Herb Wimberly Intercollegiate championship


For the third straight year, NM State men's golf has claimed the Herb Wimberly Intercollegiate championship. The Aggies cruised to victory, winning by 20-strokes over second-place finishers Seattle U and Weber State.

Shooting a 198 throughout the tournament, Garrison Smith broke the NM State record for the lowest 54-hole score. Smith ran away with the Herb Wimberly individual title, shooting 15-under par. In the final round, Smith carded six birdies without a single bogey to go six-under.
An outstanding performance by Aidan Thomas was overshadowed by Smith's masterpiece. Thomas carded a 209 (-4) in the tournament, which was tied for third in the field.
Javier Delgadillo, Lance Christensen, and Alexandre Bauduin all notched their first career top 25 finishes for the Aggies. Bauduin, a native of France, earned a top-ten finish with a 212 (-1). Out of South Dakota, Christensen shot a 217 (+4) as an individual to finish in a tie for 23rd.
Also playing as individuals, Joseph Robson and River Smalley each finished inside the top 40, shooting 219 and 220, respectively. Alvaro Morales rounded out the NM State lineup for the Herb Wimberly Intercollegiate, shooting a 225.
Round Three Notes

  • Shooting a 198 (67-66-65),Garrison Smith broke the NM State 54-hole record on his way to winning the Herb Wimberly Intercollegiate.
  • Over 54 holes, Smith bogeyed just twice.
  • With a win in the Herb Wimberly Intercollegiate, it marked the third-consecutive year that NM State has won the event.
  • NM State was the only team to finish the tournament under-par, shooting a 832 (-20).
  • The Aggies will head to Tulsa, Oklahoma next week to compete in The Clerico, hosted by Oral Roberts University.