Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.


NMSU Board of Regents welcomes new members


The New Mexico State University Board of Regents bid farewell March 23 to one of its members and welcomed two new board members.

 Christopher T. Saucedo and Neal Bitsie were confirmed to the five-member board earlier in March by the New Mexico Senate, following their appointments by Gov. Michelle Lujan Grisham. March 23 marked their first meeting with their fellow regents, Ammu Devasthali, Dina Chacón-Reitzel and Arsenio Romero, who were previously appointed by Lujan Grisham.

Saucedo, who takes over the position held by Debra Hicks, will serve a six-year term. As the student regent, Bitsie will serve a two-year term, replacing Luke Sanchez.

Bitsie, who is pursuing a bachelor’s degree in engineering physics with a supplemental major in applied mathematics and a minor in aerospace engineering, took his oath of office Tuesday at Regents Grove on the Las Cruces campus before the board met. Doña Ana County Clerk Amanda Lopez Askin, a former NMSU student regent and NMSU alumnae, administered the oath.

 Saucedo, who previously served as an NMSU regent, February 2018-February 2019, as a recess appointment by former Gov. Susana Martinez, took his oath before Tuesday’s meeting in Albuquerque.

The board also issued a proclamation memorializing the legacy of the late Las Cruces Public Schools Superintendent Karen Trujillo. Trujillo died on Feb. 25. The board also recognized the outgoing NMSU Employee Council chair, Letty Gallegos, and her successor, Joseph Almaguer.