Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.


One county race may have automatic recount


The Doña Ana County Democratic primary in county commission district four may trigger an automatic recount because the top two finishers were separated by only 24 votes. The New Mexico Secretary of State’s office (NMSOS) lists it as one of four commission races that may have automatic recounts.

In the Doña Ana County race, unofficial results show Susana Chaparro with 1,649 votes (42.42 percent), Debra Ann Hathaway with 1,624 votes (41.78 percent) and Sam Bradley with 614 votes (15.8 percent). A single vote (325-324) separates two Republican candidates in the Lincoln County race, two votes (287-285) separate two Republicans in Colfax County and three votes (442-439) separate two Democrats in Hidalgo County.

The race for the Republican nomination in Doña Ana County Commission district four was decided by only 36 votes, but that wasn’t enough to trigger a recount under state statute.

Doña Ana County began its primary-vote canvass June 4, County Clerk’s Office Communications Coordinator Irene Parra said. Its canvass report will be presented to the county commission June 11, she said, and then will be sent to NMSOS. Once a state canvass is concluded, a determination will be made if recounts must be conducted.