Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.


Primary results will show up on November ballot


If nothing changes from the unofficial totals from the June 2 Primary, this is what Doña Ana County voters can expect to see on the Nov. 3 General Election ballot, keeping in mind that legislative races are by district.

County races

  • County clerk. Democrat Amanda Lopez Askin* vs Republican Cheryl De Young. Lopez Askin was appointed in September 2018.
  • County treasurer. Democrat Eric Rodriguez* vs Republican Bernadette A. Dorazio
  • District Attorney Democrat Gerald M. Byers vs Republican none. Incumbent Democrat Mark D’Antonio is not running for re-election.
  • County Commission, District 2: Democrat Diana Murillo-Trujillo (Anthony), R: none. Incumbent Democrat Ramon Gonzalez lost in the Primary.
  • County Commission, District 4: Democrat Susana Chaparro vs Republican Stacie Durham (Organ), Libertarian: Buck Bonner. Incumbent Isabella Solis, who was elected to the commission as a Democrat but switched to Republican in 2019, is not running for re-election.
  • County Commission, District 5: Democrat Manuel Sanchez* vs Republican Robert Bruce Flora. Sanchez was appointed in March 2019.

New Mexico legislative races

House of Representatives (All House and Senate districts are entirely within Doña Ana County except as noted)

  • District 33: Democrat *Micaela Lara Cadena vs Republican Beth E. Miller.
  • District 34: Democrat Raymundo Lara* vs Republican Dawn E. Ladd. Both live in La Mesa.
  • District 35: Democrat Angelica Rubio* vs Republican Richelle A. Ponder
  • District 36: Democrat Nathan Small* vs Republican Brandi L. Polanco.
  • District 37: Democrat Joanne Ferrary* vs Republican Isabella Solis.
  • District 39: Democrat Rodolfo S. “Rudy” Martinez* vs Republican Luis M. Terrazas. Both live in Silver City. The district contains 15 precincts in Grant County, 13 in Doña Ana County and one in Sierra County.
  • District 51: Democrat Willie Madrid* vs Republican Ricky Little. Both live in Chaparral.
  • District 52: Democrat Doreen Gallegos* vs John Foreman. Gallegos was first elected in 2014 and is majority whip in the New Mexico House.

New Mexico Senate

  • District 31: Democrat Joseph Cervantes* vs Republican John Thomas Roberts (Anthony).
  • District 34: Democrat Darren Kugler (Cloudcroft) vs Republican Ron Griggs* (Alamogordo). The district contains 32 precincts in Otero County, 10 in Eddy County and two in Doña Ana County.
  • District 35: Democrat Neomi O. Martinez-Parra (Lordsburg) vs Republican Crystal R. Diamond (Elephant Butte). Incumbent Democrat John Arthur Smith lost in the Primary. Smith has held the seat for 32 years. The district contains 17 precincts in Luna County, nine in Sierra County, seven in Doña Ana County and six in Hidalgo County.
  • District 36: Democrat Jeff Steinborn* vs Republican Kimberly A. Skaggs.
  • District 37: Democrat Bill Soules* vs Republican David W. Gallus.
  • District 38: Democrat Carrie Hamblen vs Republican Charles R. Wendler. Incumbent Democrat Mary Kay Papen lost in the Primary. Papen has held the seat for 20 years and is president pro-tem of the Senate.

Federal races

U.S. House, New Mexico District 2 Democrat Xochitl Torres Small* vs Republican Yvette Herrell (Alamogordo). The race is a rematch of 2018.

U.S. Senate Democrat Ben Ray Lujan (Santa Fe) vs Republican Mark V. Ronchetti (Albuquerque). Incumbent Democrat Tom Udall is not running for re-election.

Ballot questions: Legislatively referred constitutional amendments

  • Change the New Mexico Public Regulation Commission from five elected to three appointed members
  • Allow the legislature to adjust election dates and terms of office (by no more than two years) of non-statewide officeholders to balance the number of offices on presidential and gubernatorial ballots

Ballot questions: Statewide bond issues

  • $33.3 million for senior citizen facilities
  • $9.7 million for public libraries
  • $156.3 million for public higher education institutions, special public schools and tribal schools