Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.

Steinborn tops Cotter; Democrats win Senate seats


Bulletin report

The New Mexico state senate races in Doña Ana County were all carried by Democrats.

Jeff Steinborn, who decided to not run for re-election for his state house District 36 seat so he could seek a place in the senate, defeated incumbent Lee Cotter for the right to represent District 36.

“It feels good to win the election so that now we can move on and make good policy for the state,” Steinborn said. “Now, we can hopefully put the politics behind us and make good things happen in the state.

Cotter won the seat four years ago, defeating Democrat Mary Jane Garcia, who had held the seat for 24 years.

Steinborn said his victory was due in part to the fact that, like Cotter, he is a known entity.

“I think I’ve got a solid record of making things happen over eight years,” Steinborn said.

He wants to “continue with creating good economic development opportunities,” and wants to work on education policies, ethics reform for the Legislature and helping “Doña Ana County become an even stronger leader in the state.”

The president of Film Las Cruces, Steinborn said he will continue to work to bring film and television production to Las Cruces and southern New Mexico.

Incumbent Bill Soules defeated his Republican opponent Ceil Levatino for the District 37 seat in the senate. Levatino is a Las Cruces City Councillor, but lost her bid for a seat in Santa Fe by about 2,200 votes.

“I had a great team that worked hard,” Soules said. “It also shows that the people of District 37 recognize my work for children, schools and people with developmental disabilities. I will continue to work for all of the people of New Mexico and economic development that invests in people.”

State Senate Pro Temp Mary Kay Papen won re-election against Charles Wendler.

Democrats Joseph Cervantes and John Arthur Smith both ran unopposed in Districts 31 and 35 respectively.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment