Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.

Want to run for mayor or city council? File Sept. 22 for Nov. 3 election


Las Cruces Bulletin

Before you start deciding among Hilary, Jeb, Bernie and Marco in the 2016 presidential race, there’s a city election coming up later this year that will decide the mayor, three of the six members of the Las Cruces City Council and the presiding municipal judge.

The non-partisan election will be held Tuesday, Nov. 3, and will be administered by the city clerk’s office.

City council districts 1, 2 and 4 will be on the ballot. Districts 3, 5 and 6 will be up in 2017.

The incumbent mayor is Ken Miyagishima, who was first elected in 2007 and re-elected in 2011. Before that, he served six years on the city council, representing District 6. And, from 1992 to 2000, Miyagishima was a member of the Doña Ana County Commission. Miguel Silva is the District 1 incumbent. He was first elected in 2007 and re-elected in 2011.

The incumbent in District 2 is Greg Smith, who is also the mayor pro-tem. Smith was first elected in 2011. He has already indicated his plans to run for re-election to his seat on the council.

Nathan Small is the incumbent in District 4. He was first elected in 2007 and re-elected in 2011.

The current presiding municipal judge is Melissa Miller-Byrnes. She was first elected in 1999 and re-elected in 2003, 2007 and 2011.

The mayor, city councillors and municipal judge all serve four-year terms. There are no term limits on city offices.

All candidates for the city election must file for office between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. on Tuesday, Sept. 22 in the city clerk’s office at city hall, 700 N. Main St., said Interim City Clerk Linda Lewis. That is the only day to file. Candidate packets are now available in the city clerk’s office.

For more information, contact Lewis at 541-2115. Visit www.las-cruces.org/ departments/ city- clerksoffice/ municipal-elections.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment