Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.


New-look council


Las Cruces resident Larry Kibiloski spoke during the public input segment of the Jan. 6 Las Cruces City Council meeting. Left to right on the dais are Police Chief Patrick Gallagher, Fire Chief Eric Enriquez, Utilities Director Jorge Garcia, Interim Assistant City Manager Barbara DeLeon, Assistant City Manager David Dollahon, City Councilors Tessa Abeyta Stuve, Gabe Vasquez, Johana Bencomo, Gill Sorg, Yvonne Flores and Kasandra Gandara, Mayor Ken Miyagishima and Interim City Manager Bill Studer. Stuve and Bencomo were elected to the council last November, and this was their first meeting as council members. The council elected Gandara as the new mayor pro-tem, succeeding Sorg.