Welcome to our new web site!

To give our readers a chance to experience all that our new website has to offer, we have made all content freely avaiable, through October 1, 2018.

During this time, print and digital subscribers will not need to log in to view our stories or e-editions.

Nov. 7 is election day; early voting through Nov. 4


Las Cruces voters will choose a new mayor in the Tuesday, Nov. 7, local election. Voters in districts one, two and four will choose city councilors, and the city will elect a new presiding municipal judge.

Early voting continues through Saturday, Nov. 4, at the Doña Ana County Government Center, 845 N. Motel Blvd.; Las Cruces City Hall, 700 N. Main St.; Corbett Center, 1600 International Mall on the NMSU campus; and Doña Ana Community College East Mesa campus, 2800 Sonoma Ranch Blvd. Early voting hours are 11 a.m.- 7 p.m. except at the County Government Center, where the hours are 8 a.m.-5 p.m. weekdays and 10 a.m.-6 p.m. Saturday, Nov. 4.

Nov. 7 (election day) is the last day for same-day voter registration. Absentee ballots must be turned in by 7 p.m. that day to be counted. There are secure absentee ballot drop boxes at the County Government Center, City Hall, Corbett Center, Sonoma Ranch Elementary School (4201 Northrise Drive) and Mesilla Town Hall (2231 Avenida de Mesilla).

There are 42 election day voting locations throughout the county. Polls are open 7 a.m.-7 p.m. on election day.

Visit www.donaanacountyelections.com/election-information for all voting locations.


All registered voters in the city will vote for mayor (seven candidates) and municipal judge (one candidate). Only those voters in districts 1, 2 and 4 will vote in city council races. Districts 3, 5 and 6 are not on this year’s ballot. City races that have more than two candidates will be decided by ranked choice voting.

  • Mayor: Kasandra Gandara, Eric Enriquez, Mariah J. Hernandez, current Doña Ana County Assessor Gina Ortega, former Doña Ana County Commissioner Isabella Solis, Mike Tellez, Alexander Fresquez. Incumbent Mayor Ken Miyagishima is not running for a fifth four-year term. Ortega, Solis, Tellez and Fresquez have previously run for mayor. Gandara has served the past eight years on the Las Cruces City Council. Enriquez is a former Las Cruces assistant city manager and fire chief.
  • City Council District 1: Patrick W. Potter, Daniel Buck, Cassandra McClure, Mark. J. O’Neill, Jason Estrada. Incumbent Kasandra Gandara is running for mayor.
  • City Council District 2: Incumbent Tessa Abeyta; former Las Cruces mayor Bill Mattiace
  • City Council District 4: Incumbent Johana Bencomo, Gabriel Duran Jr., Lorenzo M. Medina, Ramon Ortega
  • Municipal Judge 1: Anthony F. Filosa is the only candidate. Filosa was appointed municipal judge II by the Las Cruces City Council in April. Incumbent Judge 1 Joy Goldbaum did not file for re-election.

Las Cruces Public Schools Board of Education

DACC bond issue

Doña Ana Community College has a $16 million in general obligation bond question on the ballot that would pay for security and safety upgrades, infrastructure improvements, classroom upgrades and technology upgrades and acquisition. Visit dacc.nmsu.edu/gobonds/index.html.